Skip To Main Content

International Qualified Teacher Status (iQTS)

International Qualified Teacher Status (iQTS) is a new international teaching qualification, backed by the UK Government, which was piloted from September 2022 with six providers. Additional providers will be supporting the wider roll-out of iQTS from 23/24.

iQTS is a one-year postgraduate course with the same entry criteria as English Initial Teacher Training, which leads to the automatic award of QTS. 

Introduction to International Qualified Teacher Status - Webinar

In this COBIS webinar (June 2022), representatives from the Department for Education (DfE) shared further details about iQTS, the pilot, and next steps.


Six providers were involved in the iQTS pilot phase in 2022/23:

  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • The University of Birmingham Dubai
  • The University of Derby
  • The University of Sunderland
  • The University of Warwick

Additional providers are now involved in the wider roll-out of the iQTS (from 2023/24):

  • Edge Hill University
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • National Institute of Teaching and Education, a part of the Coventry University Group
  • Plymouth Marjon University
  • Tes
  • University of Buckingham
  • University of Portsmouth
  • University of the West of England

The Department for Education has announced additional providers that will deliver the iQTS from 2024/25:

  • St Mary's University
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Chichester
  • University of Northampton