Skip To Main Content
Maeve O'Leary

The most outstanding schools and teachers have been shortlisted as finalists for the first ever Tes Awards for International Schools. The awards showcase the best of the global education community and highlight their amazing achievements.

The shortlisted finalists of the awards have been selected by a panel of 19 expert judges, including school leaders, experts, and education researchers. Their objectivity, professionalism, and high standards of the judging process will help establish the awards as an achievement to be highly sought after.

The shortlisted schools and teachers are spread across 36 countries across the world, and include 30 COBIS schools. We want to extend a huge congratulations to all COBIS schools that have been shortlisted. We are proud of all of the hard work and successful initiatives found all over the COBIS network.

The overall winners will be announced on 25 April 2024. Here is a list of the COBIS schools and staff that have been nominated:

Teaching Initiative of the Year

  • Emma Sims, Brighton College Abu Dhabi
  • Esther O'Connor, The British School of Brussels
  • Simon Hickman & The Horizons Programme, The English International School Marbella

Teaching Assistant / Support of the Year

  • Hayley Langusta, Brighton College Abu Dhabi
  • Helena Hill, Brighton College Abu Dhabi
  • Bhumika Chandnani, GEMS Founders School - Dubai
  • Rajkumari Tilwani, GEMS Founders School - Dubai
  • Ana de la Luna, Brighton College Dubai

Sustainability Award

  • Dulwich College Shanghai Pudong
  • The British School in the Netherlands Junior School Vlaskamp
  • Oryx International School
  • The British School of Bahrain

Student Mental Health Initiative of the Year

  • GEMS Founders School - Dubai
  • GEMS Wellington Academy Silicon Oasis
  • NLCS Jeju
  • British International School Riyadh

Staff Wellbeing Initiative of the Year

  • Marlborough College Malaysia
  • GEMS Founders School - Dubai
  • Bright Horizons- International British School of Zagreb
  • NLCS Jeju

Specialist Provision Provider of the Year

  • Rainbow International School Uganda
  • St George's British International School, Rome

Principal / Headteacher of the Year

  • Robert Ford, Heritage International School
  • Kai Vacher, British School Muscat

Leadership Award

  • John David Maguire, The British School of Bahrain
  • Simone Shaikh, GEMS Founders School - Dubai
  • Shahana Kiran Salman, GEMS Cambridge International Private School - Sharjah

International School of the Year

  • The British School of Bahrain
  • GEMS Cambridge International Private School - Sharjah
  • Marlborough College Malaysia
  • Dubai English Speaking School & College

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

  • GEMS Founders School Dubai
  • The British School in Tokyo
  • The Edron Academy

Curriculum Initiative of the Year

  • The British School in Tokyo
  • St Christopher's School
  • Cambridge School of Bucharest
  • Tanglin Trust School

Community Engagment Initiative of the Year

  • Rugby School Thailand
  • Repton School Abu Dhabi
  • Tanglin Trust School
  • The British School in Tokyo

Best Use of Technology

  • Dulwich College Shanghai Puxi
  • Rugby School Thailand
  • Brighton College Abu Dhabi

A full list of nominees can be found here.